Login to Pancreatic Cancer UK

news hero image

Our new pancreatic cancer Patient Charter

Posted by: Policy and campaigning 22 March 2016

Today we launched our new Patient Charter for pancreatic cancer. The Charter sets out the standard of care all pancreatic cancer patients should receive, but unfortunately too often do not. It is intended to empower patients and their carers to demand the level of care they are entitled to. We are delighted to report that the Patient Charter is supported by important professional bodies; the Pancreatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland, the Association of Upper Gastrointestinal Surgeons and the British Society of Gastroenterologists.

The Charter is the first step in our new Gold Standards campaign, which aims to drive up standards of treatment and care for pancreatic cancer patients in future, across the whole of the UK.  

At the launch of the Patient Charter in the House of Commons, we had a fantastic turnout of MPs and Peers who came along to show their support for driving up standards of pancreatic cancer care. They were also presented with the opportunity to speak with patients, carers and clinician guests to learn about their experiences. We were particularly pleased that the Health Minister, Jane Ellison MP (pictured), took the time to attend and that she recommended the Charter in her speech as an invaluable piece of information for patients.

Guests also heard from Paul Scully MP (pictured), who sponsored the reception, our Chief Executive Alex Ford (pictured), and pancreatic cancer survivor and our Deputy Chair of Trustees, Lynne Walker, who spoke passionately about how patients have every right to expect a high standard of treatment and care, and how the new Charter can help to make sure that happens.

We look forward to advertising and circulating copies of the Patient Charter as widely as possible around the UK over the coming months. Download or order your copy.

Thank you to all of the following MPs and Peers who took the time to support the launch of the Charter: Lord Aberdare; Sir David Amess; Stuart Andrew; Andrew Bridgen; Rosie Cooper; Alberto Costa; Nic Dakin; Mims Davies; Peter Dowd; Mark Durkan; Jane Ellison; Jim Fitzpatrick; Sir Roger Gale; Stephen Hammond; Barbara Keeley; Justine Madders; John Pugh; Andrew Rosindell; Paul Scully; Virendra Sharma; Mark Spencer; Iain Stewart; and Nick Thomas-Symonds.