Specialist centres

Anyone diagnosed with pancreatic cancer should have their case reviewed at a specialist cancer centre where there is a specialist pancreatic cancer team.

Finding your local specialist centre

This section has the contact details of hospitals that have pancreatic cancer specialist teams. The page is split up by region, so you can search for the area you live. If possible, we have provided links to the hospital websites so you can find more information on the teams and centres treating pancreatic cancer.

These services may be called HPB (hepatopancreaticobiliary) centres as the same specialists may work with people affected by pancreatic, liver, gallbladder and bile duct cancers.

Click on the links below to find the specialist centre in your area.

Find specialist centres in England:

Find specialist centres in:

North East

Newcastle: The North East’s Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary (HPB) Centre, Freeman Hospital in Newcastle.

North West

Blackburn: The East Lancashire Specialist HPB Cancer Multidisciplinary Team (MDT), Royal Blackburn Hospital and other hospitals within the East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Manchester: Surgical centres – Central Manchester Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Manchester Royal Infirmary).

Oncology services are provided at The Christie NHS Foundation Trust.

Liverpool: The Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary (HPB) Team, Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust covers HPB cancer care in Merseyside, Cheshire, Isle of Man and North Wales.


Hull: Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust Queen’s Centre (Castle Hill Hospital).

Sheffield: Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Northern General Hospital, Weston Park Cancer Centre or Royal Hallamshire Hospital).

Leeds: Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust Pancreatic Cancer Multi-Disciplinary Team (St James’s University Hospital).

West Midlands

Stoke on Trent: University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust (Royal Stoke University Hospital) covers Staffordshire, Shropshire (including part of Mid Wales) and Wolverhampton.

Birmingham: University Hospitals Birmingham Foundation Trust (Queen Elizabeth Hospital Site).

Coventry: University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire NHS Trust.

East Midlands

Nottingham: The Nottingham Hepato-Pancreatico-Biliary (HPB) Service, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust (Queens Medical Centre) covers Nottingham, Mansfield, Lincoln, Boston, Grantham, Derby and beyond.

Leicester: University Hospital of Leicester NHS Trust (Leicester General Hospital) cover an area including Leicestershire, Peterborough, Kettering and Northampton.


Cambridge: Cambridge Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Cancer Service, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Addenbrooke’s Hospital).


London – North West: The hepato-pancreato-biliary (HPB) unit at Hammersmith Hospital, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust.

London – North: The Sheila Sherlock Liver Centre, Royal Free Hampstead NHS Trust.

London – North East: Barts and The London HPB Centre (Royal London Hospital, Whitechapel).

London – South East: The Hepatobiliary and Pancreatic (HPB) Service, Kings College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.

London – South West: Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust.

South East

Kent: The Hepatobiliary and Pancreatic (HPB) Service, Kings College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, London.

Oxford: The Hepatobiliary and Pancreatic (HPB) Cancer Multidisciplinary Team (MDT), Oxford Radcliffe Hospitals NHS Trust (Churchill Hospital).

Southampton: Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust also offers services to patients living on the Isle of Wight and in the Channel Islands.

Guildford: The Regional Hepatopancreaticobiliary (HPB) Unit, Royal Surrey County Hospital.

South West

Plymouth: Peninsula Liver and Heptobiliary Cancer Centre, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust (Derriford Hospital) offers services to patients in the South West Peninsula, including Devon, Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly

Bristol: University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust (Bristol Royal Infirmary)


Aberdeen: Aberdeen Royal Infirmary.

Dundee: Ninewells Hospital, Dundee.

Aberdeen and Dundee are both surgical centres for NHS Scotland North, taking a regional approach across NHS Grampian, NHS Highland and NHS Tayside,  also providing cancer services to NHS Orkney, NHS Shetland and NHS Western Isles.

Edinburgh: Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh and Edinburgh Western General Hospital (non-surgical treatments).

Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh is the surgical centre for South East Scotland Cancer Network.

Glasgow: Royal Glasgow Infirmary and Beatson West of Scotland Cancer Centre (non-surgical treatments).

Royal Glasgow Infirmary is the surgical centre for West of Scotland Cancer Network.

Inverness: Raigmore Hospital, NHS Highland.

Raigmore Hospital is the surgical centre for NHS Scotland North, Highland area.


North Wales: Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust.

Surgical centre for North Wales Cancer Network.

South Wales: Abertawe Bro Morgannwg University Health Board, Morriston Hospital.

Surgical centre for Wales Cancer Network.

Cardiff: Oncology centre, Velindre Cancer Centre.

Swansea: Oncology centre, Singleton Hospital.

Mid Wales: some patients from mid-Wales may be referred to Stoke on Trent.

Northern Ireland

Belfast: Belfast Hospitals Trust.

The Surgical centre for Northern Ireland Cancer Network.


Updated December 2022

Review date December 2025